

Not all of the soldiers are volunteers, as, after the Jedi Coup of 19BBY, the Emperor decreed that soldiers would be conscripted to bolster the ranks of the Grand Army of the Republic (which at that point had not transitioned into the Imperial Military).Īll Imperial Army Troopers receive training in hand-to-hand combat, blaster combat and maintenance, and how to survive in the wilderness. These are without fail, humans from the hundreds of thousands of worlds that make up the Galactic Empire. But its main unit seems to be really weak by this ruling.Imperial Army The bulk of the troops of the New Order are the standard army trooper. It's not that I could complain because it is still a decent objective set with goot objective, 2X awesome defenders, good enhancements for a capital ship deck. What if I'm commited to the force and gets Seeds of decay?! Its ability doesn't even combo with its onjective set counterpart, the Decimator because I have to declare it after the lost edge battle, but in this case the Decimator is not defending alone any more and can't strike first. Its ability is just lame if I stay unfocused and wait for losing an edge. I know it can shield itself and hit 3 pistols with 2 of its objectives out but still weak. Now this unit seems to be a really bad one for 3 resources the weak icons and the shielding doesn't compensate its basicly useless ability. Well rules are rules so we have to accept that.

(not counting extreme situations when it leaves the engagement) Otherwise we couldn't really explain the Limit 1 per turn ability since if it gets focused in the first engangement it jumps in it can't jump in later anyway. I understand that I cannot declare a unit defender if it is focused but we thought it's not the same situation since it "jump into" the engagement. We thought that the reaction is not just giving me an opportunity to declare it as a defernder but the triggering condition immediately puts the Imperial raider into combat right after the losing edge battle even if its exhausted, of course triggering its shielding. I guess it can be interpreted like that according to the rulebook. Rulebook, page 18: “The defending player…declares which of his ready units will engaged.” (emphasis in original)

This is true whether you declare him in the normal framework game step “Declare Defenders” or if you use its Reaction. The Imperial Raider must be ready in order to be declared as a defender. Does the Raider need to be ready to use this Reaction? "The new Imperial Raider has a reaction that allows it to be declared as a defender after losing an edge battle. It seems to be recently we played this unit the wrong way.
